Building a Bar Height Table… Belly Up to the Blog! – #7 Relax and put your feet up!

The Bar Table project and the semester is coming to an end! I couldn’t have picked a better project to finish just in time for some summer relaxation. I can’t wait to have friends and family over to celebrate life and our personal achievements. I look forward to the laughs, playing games, great conversation, lending ours ears during the tough times we face in life, and obviously trying to solve the world’s problems as we huddle around the newly built Bar Table.

On May 12, 2021, my classes will be over for the semester! I can’t wait to, belly up, relax, and put my feet up! It’s been a blast getting to know fellow classmates and professors. I wish you all the best! Thank you for encouraging me during this project! Shoot me a message if you want to Belly Up at my bar!

Purpose of a footrest

The main purpose of a footrest is to be comfortable in a standing or seated position.  If you’re sitting, and your feet are dangling with no support, I would say you’re suffering from a “footloose condition”.  No, I’m not talking about the classic “Footloose” song by Kenny Loggins.  Dangling legs can’t sit still.  They’re constantly moving and trying to find a home.  They need a footrest!    Please, if you’re reading this and you own an bar or establishment where there could be potential customers suffering from the “footloose condition”, find a solution for them.  They’ll stay longer and spend more money!  (I’m not guaranteeing this will happen for other people, but I know I would!)

Painting the footrests

Since I was going with the industrial look in the basement bar area, I decided to paint the exposed metal in the basement the color black. “What are you asking?  Great question!” – Me  The answer is, “no”.  Regarding the metal, no one had to tell me to paint it, black.  BUT, I did have “Paint it, Black“, by the the Rolling Stones, playing as I was spraying the semi gloss black paint onto the footrests.  It wouldn’t be right, if I didn’t do this!  

I need to give a shout out to my son, Noah, and father, Dave, for helping me grind the welds and prep for painting.  (Noah, actually helped finish the welding of the footrest too.  He’s only 13 years old, but he’s well on his way to becoming a great welder!  Super proud of him!)   I ran out of time to finish the welding and prepping.  Thank you guys for helping me!!  

Photo #1, The end footrest before being painted

Photo #2, The footrests as I was painting them

Fastening the Footrests to the table

Step One, I cut 7″ supports blocks to rest the footrests on as I prepared to fasten them.  With the 7″ block, and then the 3″ tubing, the total height off the floor to the top of the footrest is 10″.  

Step Two, I centered the end footrests on the ends of the table.  I predrilled the holes where I was attaching the wood screws.  See Photo #3 for reference.  

Photo #3, Predrilled the holes for the wood screws. You can see the blocks I used for the wanted height off the floor.

Step Four, I screwed the footrests to the ends.

Step Five, I measured 6″ in from the outside edge of the table base towards the inside of the table. I positioned the inside footrests on the support blocks. I made sure they were level. I predrilled the holes. I used two screws on each end to fasten the footrests to the table. See Photo #4 for reference.

Photo #4, Attaching the middle footrests to the table base.

Securing the table Top

Step Six, I used 1 1/2″, 90 degree metal brackets with 1 1/4″ screws to secure the table top to the table base.  I made sure the table top was centered on the base before securing it to the base. 

Finished Project

I know others may do their bar table a different way, and that’s great!  This is what I had in my head when I began to design it.  There were only a couple small additions to the original plan that I had drawn out.  For the most part, I think the bar table turned out great!  I will be ordering bar stools for the table soon.   I’m going with red stools, to match the pool table felt.  See Photo #5 for the finished look of the table.  I put two red counter height stools to show you the color combination.   The bar stools I intend to buy will have back rests.  See Photo #6 for a picture of me with the bar table.  I did not take a photo of myself with a beverage in hand.  I’ll have my first beverage at the table with friends and family! 

Photo #5, Finished Table with the red counter height stools. I’m ordering 6 red bar height stools.
Photo #6, Me with the Bar Table. The wall in the back looks bare… I need to build shelves! On to the next project!

Songs Cited

“Footloose” – Kenny Logins, (12) Kenny Loggins – Footloose (Official Video) – YouTube

“Paint It, Black” – Rolling Stones, (12) The Rolling Stones – Paint It, Black (Official Lyric Video) – YouTube

One thought on “Building a Bar Height Table… Belly Up to the Blog! – #7 Relax and put your feet up!

Leave a comment